You must complete External Processes of Landform Development: Weathering to unlock this Lesson.



  1. Meaning of ECOWAS
  2. Member Countries of ECOWAS
  3. Purpose and Mandate of ECOWAS
  4. Advantages and Disadvantages of ECOWAS
  5. Solutions to ECOWAS Problems


Meaning of ECOWAS

ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) may be defined as a sub-regional organization formed to promote co-operation and development in all economic fields and contribute to the progress and development of the African continents.

On 28th May, 1975, heads of states and governments of 15 independent states of West Africa converged in Lagos, where they signed the treaty, formally establishing ECOWAS. That day was the finest day in the post-independence history of West Africa.


  1. Explain the acronym ‘ECOWAS’.
  2. In what year was ECOWAS formed?


Member Countries of ECOWAS

The Economic Community of West African States has 16 member-states made up of 11 Francophone and 5 Anglophone countries. They are: Nigeria, The Republic of Benin, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Burkina Faso, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

Back to: GEOGRAPHY – SS3 > Second Term
© [2022] Spidaworks Digital - All rights reserved.