You must complete Federalism in Nigeria to unlock this Lesson.



  1. Formation of the Action Group
  2. Organizational Structure of the Action Group
  3. Sources of Finance for the Action Group
  4. Objectives of the Action Group
  5. Leadership of the A.G
  6. Successes and Failures of the Action Group


Formation of the Action Group

A group of Yoruba students studying in Britain came together in 1945 and established a cultural group called Egbe Omo Oduduwa. It later metamorphosed to a political party called Action Group in March 1951. The founder and leader of the party was late Chief Obafemi Awolowo. Other influential members of the parties were S.L. Akintola, Chief Shonibare, Chief Bode Thomas, Oni of Ife, Sir Adesoji Aderemi etc.


Organizational Structure of the Action Group

Membership of AG was open to individuals not below 16 years of age. The party had branches in the Local Government ward level in each region, divisional conference which was made up to two or more local government units, Regional parliamentary council, regional executive committee.

Lesson tags: Government Lesson Notes, Government Objective Questions, SS3 Government, SS3 Government Evaluation Questions, SS3 Government Evaluation Questions First Term, SS3 Government First Term, SS3 Government Objective Questions, SS3 Government Objective Questions First Term
Back to: GOVERNMENT – SS3 > First Term
© [2022] Spidaworks Digital - All rights reserved.