You must complete Federalism in Nigeria to unlock this Lesson.



  1. Formation of the Nigerian Peoples Party (NPP)
  2. Organizational Structure of the NPP
  3. Sources of Finance for the NPP
  4. Aims and Objectives of the NPP
  5. Performance or Achievements of the NPP


Formation of the Nigerian Peoples Party (NPP)

It was Alhaji Ibrahim Waziri who led the group of Nigerians that formed the Nigerian’s People’s Party (NPP) included: Chief Adeniran Ogunsanya who later became the Chairman of the party, Chief Olu Akinfosile, Chief Matthew T.Mbu, Dr. Obi Wali, Chief San Mbakwe, Chief Dominic Nwobodo, Chief Solomon Lar, Alhaji Ado Ibrahim, etc. Chief Dr. Nnamdi Azikwe joined the party after its formation and later became its leader and feature of NPP was that majority of its members were members of the first republic NCNC.


Organizational Structure of the NPP

The NPP organized its members at the following levels. The ward/town, district level and the local government area; each had an executive committee. There were also state organizations with each state having a consultative committee, the executive committee, working committee, the parliamentary council of the state conventions.

Lesson tags: Government Lesson Notes, Government Objective Questions, SS3 Government, SS3 Government Evaluation Questions, SS3 Government Evaluation Questions First Term, SS3 Government First Term, SS3 Government Objective Questions, SS3 Government Objective Questions First Term
Back to: GOVERNMENT – SS3 > First Term
© [2022] Spidaworks Digital - All rights reserved.