1. Components of the Solar System
  2. Classification of Planets
  3. The Sun
  4. The Nine Planets and their Characteristics
  5. The Earth – Size, Shape and Position in Relation to the Sun and Other Planets
  6. Evidence/Proofs to Show that the Earth is Spherical


Components of the Solar System

 The Solar System

The solar system consists of the sun and the nine planets with their satellites. The sun is at the centre of the planets and all other planets revolve around it on elliptical orbits. The nine planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto

The path followed by each of these planets around the sun is called ORBIT. A smaller body which moves around a planet is called SATELLITE.

The Earth in Space - The Solar System

The Solar System

Classification of Planets

The planets themselves can be grouped into two:

1. Terrestrial Planets

They are Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars.

Back to: GEOGRAPHY – SS1 > First Term
© [2022] Spidaworks Digital - All rights reserved.
error: Alert: Content is protected !!